Understanding 'Subscriptions'

What are 'subscriptions' and why are they needed?

'Subscriptions' are a method of adding users within an event to receive notifications when a document or discussion is created or updated. A 'subscribed' user will receive a notification within the application and by email when you have successfully added a document or discussion. They will then continue to receive notifications when a comment is added to the document/discussion or is edited within the application.

The Subscriptions feature is a handy way of adding the users you want to keep 'in the loop' on your document and discussion threads without them having to manually monitor document categories for important updates to the event.

It is also an important feature for you, as a 'subscriber', to keep up to date on any changes in your events.


What are the benefits of being 'subscribed' to a document or discussion?

The main benefit of being subscribed to a document or discussion is that you're the first to know if there are new updates, whether you're logged in or busy doing other things - as long as you've got access to your email account, you can not only read the latest comments added to the conversation thread, but also reply to the comment by email (your comment via email is added into the conversation thread the same way as if you were commenting directly within the application).


How do I know if I'm subscribed to a document or discussion?

There are two ways to see if you are currently subscribed to a document or discussion. The first way to see if you are subscribed is to enter a document category and view the listings within the category - any documents/discussions you are currently subscribed to are indicated by a small green tick, located on the icon of the document/discussion listed.

The second way to check if you're subscribed to a document or discussion is to enter the conversation area (by clicking on it) and viewing your current subscription status (located above the comment box). You will see an indicator displaying the word ‘Unsubscribe’ with a green tick next to it if you are currently subscribed to this conversation.

This option will display the text ‘Subscribe’ and appear ‘greyed out’ if you are not currently subscribed to the conversation - if you wish to follow the conversation, just click on this option to begin following it and begin receiving notifications.