Managing users in your events

Can I limit what a new user sees or has access to within an event?

Only if the user is being set-up with a 'set-permission’ role. Both levels of Administrators will always have access to all conversation areas within an event when added.

As an Administrator, you get to decide which events and which conversation areas a ‘set-permission’ user can view (could be one, could be all - it's your choice!).


How do I edit a user’s details after I’ve added them to an event?

Reminder: Only Administrators can edit other users account details

Simply enter the  Users area found on the Event Dashboard to enter the event Users index, and following this select the user you wish to edit. Once selected, you will find an option at the top right of this page to ‘edit' the user. Select this, and in this area make the necessary changes you need to the user's account and then click on the 'Save' button (found at the bottom of the page). 

As an Administrator, you can also manage users that currently have access to your property. To do so, simply enter the Admin Area (via the User Menu on the top left of the page) and select the 'Manage Users' option found on the page. You will then see an index of all current users, and selecting one will allow you to access their biographical data and permissions.

Note: Group Administrators cannot edit any Full Administrators accounts

You can read more on this topic in the 'Administration - Using The Admin Property Dashboard' section of the Knowledge Base.


How do I know when a User has activated their account?

Once you have successfully created a new user, you will be taken to the Admin User Account page for the new user. In this area you can see what their event and area accesses are and also view their account 'state'. A new user's state will be shown as 'pending' until they activate their account - the account becomes active once the user has selected the link contained in the activation email they received upon creation and they have successfully logged into the application. Following this, the user's account 'state' will change to 'active'.

Users that have not activated their account will be shown as 'pending' on their account state when viewed within an event, but when viewing their account in the Admin Property Dashboard you have the ability to resend their activation email to ensure that they have received it. To do this, just click on the button at the bottom of the page and a new activation email will be sent.

You can sort users in either your event or Admin Property Dashboard 'Users' index by their current account state - selecting this option will group all users at the property as 'pending' or 'active' depending on their activation status.